Florida DUI Defense Attorney
Ft. Lauderdale Based DUI Attorney Serving the State of Florida
Driving Under the Influence (also known as a DUI) is one of the most common criminal charge types in the state of Florida.
Under Florida law, “DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.”
It’s common in Florida for DUI offenders to face prison time, fees and installation of an ignition interlock breathalyzer device. If you have been charged with drunken driving, it is imperative that you find the best DUI lawyer in your area who can help you defend your case.
A DUI conviction can lead to many issues beyond possible prison time and fines:
- Your future employment may be affected
- Your Auto insurance rates will likely get a lot more expensive
- Your ability to freely travel to other countries may even be effected. Many countries including Canada often turn away visitors with past DUI convictions.
DUI’s can affect all areas of life. It is crucial to not automatically presume that you are in fact guilty. Hiring an attorney familiar with the complexities of DUI laws and arrest procedures will give you the best chance to have the charges against you dropped or possibly reduced.
If you or someone you know have been arrested and charged with a DUI offense in the Fort Lauderdale region, call the Leah Mayersohn for help. She is one of South Florida’s most experienced and well respected DUI lawyers. Call today to discuss the specifics of your case: (954)400-5000
There are several factors in considering the outcome of your DUI case. These factors can also influence the outcome of your Fine Schedule, Imprisonment, DUI Misdemeanor Conviction and DUI Felony Conviction.
DUI Fine Schedule:
The Fine Schedule in Florida is as follows:
First Conviction: Not less than $500, or more than $1000. A Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) .15 or higher: Not less than $1000, or more than $2000. Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required. Total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1 year.
Second Conviction: Not less than $1000, or more than $2000. BAL of .15 or higher: Not less than $2000, or more than $4000.
Third Conviction: Not less than $2000, or more than $5000. BAL of .15 or higher: Not less than $4000.
Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not less than $2000.
Imprisonment Schedule for Florida DUI Convictions:
First Conviction: Not more than 6 months. BAL of .15 or higher: Not more than 9 months.
Second Conviction: Not more than 9 months. BAL of .15 or higher: Not more than 12 months. If second conviction with 5 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days and at least 48 hours must be consecutive.
Third Conviction: If third conviction within 10 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive. If more than 10 years, imprisonment for not more than 12 months.
Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not more than 5 years or as provided in s.775.084, Florida Statutes, as habitual/violent offender.
DUI Misdemeanor Conviction (Accident Involving Property Damage or Personal Injury)
Any person will be guilty of First Degree Misdemeanor if property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is caused. Not more than $1000 fine or 1-year imprisonment.
DUI Felony Conviction
Any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or fourth commits or who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony. Not more than $5000 and/or 5 years imprisonment or if habitual/violent felony offender as provided in s.775.084, F.S.
Being charged with a DUI can turn your world upside down. It’s important that you take the steps to turn things back around. And hiring a competent attorney who can work in your best interest is one of the most important first steps you can take. Call Leah Mayersohn to get help with your case: (954)400-5000
We are here to aid and assist you through this tough time. Make a decision today that will leave you feeling better tomorrow.