South Florida Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence Charges Attorney

Florida is home to a wide variety of domestic violence laws and regulations, designed to protect victims of domestic abuse. Under Florida law, there are three basic types of domestic violence charges:

1. Domestic Violence Assault – This charge involves physical harm or an attempt to cause physical harm against a family member, spouse, significant other, dating partner, or even any person that you have had a romantic relationship with in the past. Examples include punching someone or pushing them down.

2. Aggravated Domestic Violence – As the name implies, this is a criminal offense that carries penalties more severe than regular domestic violence assault charges. In most cases, aggravated domestic violence charges will be accompanied by felony-level consequences. Examples include strangulation and use of a deadly weapon.

3. Domestic Violence Battery – Unlike assault, domestic violence battery involves actual physical contact between the perpetrator and victim. This can include anything from slapping to sexual assault. Aggravated battery charges will be levied if the injuries sustained by the victim are considered particularly severe.

What Happens If You’re Found Guilty?

Depending on the severity of the offense and the prior criminal history of the perpetrator, domestic violence charges in Florida can result in anywhere from probation to 20 years in prison. In addition, those convicted of domestic violence will likely be required to complete mandatory counseling and may be subject to a restraining order.

Call Our Office For Help Today

If you have been charged with domestic violence in Florida, it is important that you seek experienced legal representation as soon as possible. A skilled attorney will be able to review the facts of your case and help you develop the strongest possible defense. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation.


Driving Under The Influence Of Drugs

Driving while drug impaired

Driving while under the influence of drugs is illegal in Broward County, Florida. If you are caught driving while impaired by drugs, you could face serious penalties, including jail time, fines, and a driver’s license suspension.

If you are pulled over on suspicion of driving while impaired by drugs, the officer may ask you to submit to a sobriety test. If you fail the sobriety test, you will be arrested and charged with DUI.

What kinds of drugs can be considered offenses in a DUI?

There are many drugs that can impair your ability to drive, and all of them are illegal to use while driving in Broward County. These include prescription medications, over-the-counter medications, and illegal drugs. If you are caught driving while impaired by any of these substances, you will be charged with DUI.

The penalties for driving while impaired by drugs depend on factors such as your blood alcohol content (BAC) level and whether you have been convicted of DUI in the past. However, even if it is your first offense, you could still be facing up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

What if you’re convicted?

If you are convicted of DUI, you will also be required to complete a drug education program and install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. You may also have your driver’s license suspended for up to one year.

If you are caught driving while impaired by drugs, it is important to contact an experienced DUI attorney who can help you fight the charges. With the help of a qualified lawyer, you may be able to avoid jail time and keep your driver’s license.

Get help with your DUI charges now

It is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible if you are arrested for DUI. The penalties for driving while impaired by drugs can be severe, and it is critical that you get the help of a qualified lawyer who will have your best interests in mind. Call or contact our office today to learn more about how we can help you.


Kidnapping Charges In South Florida

Charged With Kidnapping In Broward County?

If you have been charged with kidnapping in Broward County, FL, or anywhere in South Florida, it is important to understand what the charges mean and how they could affect your future. In this article, we’ll take a look at the definition of kidnapping and what you should do if you are facing these charges.

What Is Kidnapping?

Kidnapping is defined by Florida law as when someone “forcibly, secretly or by threat confine, abducts or kidnaps another person against his or her will and without lawful authority…” The charge can be brought when the victim is moved a short distance from one place within an area (county) to another place within that same area (county), or if the victim is moved a short distance from one area to another area in a different county.

What If I Had No Intention of Abducting the Person?

Unfortunately, it does not matter whether you were actually planning to abduct (or kidnap) the person or if there was no intention of doing so at all. In order for the charges to be brought, the state only needs to prove that you had the intent to do so.

What Are The Possible Penalties?

If you are convicted of kidnapping in Broward County, FL, you could be facing anywhere from a minimum of 3 years up to a maximum of 30 years in prison. Additionally, you may also be fined up to $10,000. If the victim was a child under the age of 13, you could be facing a life sentence.

What Should I Do If I’ve Been Charged With Kidnapping?

If you have been charged with kidnapping, it is important that you seek legal assistance as soon as possible. An experienced criminal defense lawyer will be able to review the details of your case and help you understand what options may be available to protect your future.

Don’t Delay, Call Mayersohn Law Firm Now

At The Mayersohn Law Firm we are committed to helping people who have been charged with crimes in Broward County, FL. We’ll work tirelessly on your behalf and leave no stone unturned when it comes to defending your rights and freedom. Call us today for a free consultation about your case.


WHEN DO I NEED A CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER IN FLORIDA?

According to the sixth amendment of the United States Of America Constitution, which declared that any person incriminated of a crime has a right to a lawyer to stand in for them at trial. This amendment has validated the need for a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Florida.,

Also, an arrest can be embarrassing, especially when it is your first time. Hence, the need to understand your rights and when to involve a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Florida.

Who is a Criminal Defense Lawyer?

This lawyer specializes in the aegis of people or organizations that have been charged with a criminal offense. It would help if you had a defense lawyer either privately or at different administrations within criminal courts. They work on any case related to criminal law.

And no matter the gravity of the offense, a defense lawyer will do everything possible to mount the best support for his client, who is the defendant. However, Criminal lawyers cannot let personal feelings come into being when standing in for their clients. They keep the utmost interest of their clients in mind and focus on getting them out of trouble.

So, the big question is;

 When Do You Need a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Florida?

  • Hire a criminal defense lawyer when you need to save money. Hiring a Criminal Defense Lawyer helps minimize cost in the long run if the process begins early.
  • When you need to understand the exact charges, you are facing: It will interest you to know that the gravity of the crime you committed will determine the consequence that accompanies it. Ignorantly, most people are not aware of it and do not understand their crimes before arraignment. 
  • When you need a legal aid to represent you in court when charged with a criminal offense. A Criminal Defense Lawyer will help with getting you out of trouble, avoid jail term, or limit possible sentence (in the worst scenario).

Arraignment is when the accused pleads not guilty or no contest. It is your criminal defense lawyer that will plead and represent you in the hearing. They will request bail or be released on their pledge.

In conclusion, the moment you realize that you need the best hands to handle the criminal case at hand, then you need a Criminal Defense Lawyer.